Chhattisgarh, caverd out of Madhya Pradesh came into being on 1st November 2000 as the 26th state of the Union. It fulfills the long-cherished demand of the tribal people. In ancient times the region was known as Dakshin-Kausal. This finds mention in Ramayana and Mahabharata also. Between the 6th and 12th centuries Sarabhpurias, Panduavanshi, Somvanshi, Kalchuri and Nagvanshi rulers dominated this region. Kalchuris ruled in Chhattisgarh from 980 to 1791 AD. With the advent of British in 1854, Raipur gained prominence instead of capital Ratapur.

I n 1904.Sambalpur was transferred to Orissa and estates of Sarguja were transferred from Bengal to Chhattisgarh. Chhattisgarh is bounded by Southem Jharkhand and Orissa in the east, Madhya Pradesh and Maharashtra in the west, Uttar Pradesh and western Jharkhand in the north and Andhra Pradesh in the south. Area wise Chhattisgarh is the 9th largest state and population-wise it is 17th state of the nation.

Click the categories to follow.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *